2023 Annual Meeting – Savannah, GA

December 7-9, 2023. De Soto Hotel, Savannah, GA

Pictures from the meeting

Final Program

Invited Speakers

Indira Mysorekar, PhD, Professor of Medicine, Chief of Basic and Translational Research Baylor
College of Medicine

Zachary Danziger, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Florida
International University, Miami, FL

William Ricke, PhD, Professor of Urologic Research, Director of the George M. O’Brien
Center, University of Wisconsin

John O. DeLancey, MD, Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology,
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan

George A. Kuchel, MD. Professor and Chair Department of Medicine,
University of Connecticut

Kristy Nicks, PhD, Program Director for the Bone Biology, Metabolic Bone
Disorders, and Osteoporosis portfolio at National Institute of Arthritis and
Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS), NIH, Bethesda

Trainee Presentation Award Winners

1st Place!

Adam Doelman – University of British Columbia

2nd Place

Rayna Birnbaum – Albert Einstein College of Medicine

3rd Place

Annissa Cervates – Duke University Medical Center

Top 10 Abstracts

Armand Allkanjari – Male Akita Mice Develop Bladder Underactivity Independent of NLRP3 as a Result of a Decrease in Neurotransmitter Release from Efferent Neurons

Rayna Birnbaum – Targeting FL2 after cavernous nerve injury promotes nerve regeneration and erectile function through modulating microtubule dynamics in multiple cell types

Adam W. Doelman – Wireless catheter-free pressure sensors to assess neurogenic lower urinary tract dysfunction in a porcine model of spinal cord injury

Nagat Frara – Upregulation of brain‐derived nerve factor (BDNF) expression and enhanced reactive oxygen species production in lower motor neuron‐lesioned dog bladder mucosa following somatic‐motor nerve transfer

Shelby N. Harper – Strict glucose control and elimination of NLRP3-induced inflammation prevents diabetic bladder dysfunction in the female Akita mouse model

Soumya Kamath – Characterization of female bladder and vaginal function in a preclinical model of Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

Michael R. Odom – Testosterone Contributes More to the Development of Diabetic Bladder Dysfunction in Type 1 Diabetic Male Mice Than Hyperglycemia

Rinaldo R. dos Passos Jr – The role of NLRP3 (nucleotide-binding domain, leucine-rich–containing family, pyrin domain–containing-3) in chronic stress-induced vascular and erectile dysfunction..

Afrida Rahman‐Enyart – Microglia Mediate Symptoms of Chronic Pelvic Pain

Jillian Sullivan – Inhibition of cyclophosphamide-induced bladder inflammation and hyperactivity through knockdown of the endogenous cholinergic toxin-like signaling peptide

Travel Awards

Rayna Birnbaum – Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Anissa Cervantes – Duke University Medical Center

Mohamed Elazab – Cleveland Clinic

Britney Hudson – Clemson University

Shaimaa Maher – Cleveland Clinic

Rinaldo R. dos Passos, Jr. – University of South Carolina

The Pre-Meeting Flyer

SPR Code of Conduct for 2023 Annual meeting