When – December 5-6, 2016

Where – Marriott Charleston Historic District, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401 

Supported by Generous Contributions from The Glickman Urological & Kidney Institute at Cleveland Clinic and Medtronic


Please Support SPR 2019

​​Key Note Speaker – Dr. William C. de Groat, PhD, University of Pittsburgh

“Neural circuitry in the lumbar spinal cord contributing to bladder-sphincter coordination”

State of the Art Speaker – Dr. Kenton M. Sanders, PhD, University of Nevada, Reno

“Use of optogenetic sensors and actuators to study the roles of specific cells in intact visceral smooth muscles”

​State of the Art Speaker – Dr. Arthur L. Burnett, II, MD, MBA, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

​”Nitric oxide function and dysregulation in the lower genitourinary tract: Health and disease”

​Special Guest Speaker – Dr. Tamara G. Bavendam, MD, MS, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases 

​”Opportunities for Funding Cross-Disciplinary Pelvic Research”

Special Guest Speaker – Dr. Grannum R. Sant, MD, FRCS, FACS, Tufts University School of Medicine

​“Transition from academia to industry – pathway and opportunities”


Program Summary

     December 5, 2016

​​          Continental Breakfast

​          Welcome, Opening Remarks, Mission of the SPR

          Session 1: Physiology & Pharmacology

               Key Note Lecture – Dr. William C. de Groat, PhD

               Oral Presentations – Abstracts S1A1-S1A6

          Session 2: Muscle & Organ Function

​               Oral Presentations – Abstracts S2A8-S2A14


         Session 3: Models & Methods in Pelvic Research

​               State of the Art Lecture – Dr. Kenton M. Sanders, PhD

​​               Oral Presentations – Abstracts S3A15-S3A21

​         Session 4: NIH Funding and Career Paths

               Special Guest Lecture – Dr. Tamara G. Bavendam, MD, MS

               Special Guest Lecture – Dr. Grannum R. Sant, MD, FRCS, FACS​

          Poster Session – Wine and Cheese Reception

               Poster Presentations – Abstracts PS36-PS48

     December 6, 2016

          Continental Breakfast

          Session 5: Neuroscience of Pelvic Organs/Floor

               State of the Art Lecture – Dr. Arthur L. Burnett, II, M D, MBA

​               Oral Presentations – Abstracts S5A22-S5A28

​          Session 6: Novel Therapies/Diagnostics for Pelvic Disorders

​               Oral Presentations – Abstracts S6A29-S6A35

          Closing Remarks and Awards


      Preselected for Extended Podium Presentations

​           – Iain L. O. Buxton*, Craig Ulrich, Scott D. Barnet, Heather R. Burkin – “Altered S-nitrosation of contractile proteins underlies dysfunctional quiescence in human preterm labor”

         – C. Zhang, Y. Peng, Alvaro Munoz, Timothy Boone, Yingchun Zhang* – “Motor unit number estimation of the external anal sphincter in rats”

​           – Xinhua Zhang, Jing Yin, Nirmala D. Kanika, Yuehong Tong, Guillermo Villegas, Arnold Melman, Michael E. DiSanto* – “Sphingosine-1-phosphate in vitro and in vivo modulates corpus cavernosum smooth muscle tone”

       Selected as Best Presentations for Respective Podium Sessions

​            – Cody L. Dunton*, F. Monty Hughes, J. Todd Purves, Jiro Nagatomi – “In vitro evaluation of hydrostatic pressure on ATP release and caspase-1 activation in rat urothelial cells”

​            – Kathleen D. Keef*, Sean M. Ward, Caroline A. Cobine – “Evidence supporting a pivotal role for intramuscular interstitial cells of Cajal in the generation of pacemaker activity, phasic contractions and tone in the internal anal sphincter”

          – Nicole Klee*, Robert S. Moreland – “Temporal changes of detrusor muscle function in a high fat diet and low dose streptozotocin diabetic model: the compensated and decompensated states”

​            – Danielle M. Salvadeo*, Mary F. Barbe, Nagat Frara, Ekta Tiwari, Alan S. Braverman, Michael R. Ruggieri, Sr. – “Determining integrity of the nerve-smooth muscle functional unit of the bladder after long-term decentralization”

          – Yun Peng*, Jinbao He, Rose Khavari, Timothy B. Boone, Yingchun Zhang – “Aging effects on the central motor control of the external anal sphincter in women”

​       Selected as Best Presentations for the Poster Session

          – Haeyeong Lee*, Byoung H. Koh, Robert D. Corrigan, Lauren E. Peri, Kenton M. Sanders, Toby C. Chai, Sang Don Koh – “Cyclophosphamide-induced overactive bladder via downregulation of relaxation factors in detrusor PDGFR-alpha+ cells”

           – Ekta Tiwari*, Michel A. Lemay, Alan S. Braverman, Iyad Obeid, Mary F. Barbe, Michael R. Ruggieri, Sr. – “Monitoring nerve activity during bladder filling in a rat model”

​​​Download SPR 2016 Meeting Program

See Highlights from SPR 2016

Abstracts Online

Dr. Bavendam’s Presentation

SPR 2017

SPR 2018